Getting my leg strength back – slowly

      No Comments on Getting my leg strength back – slowly

Since my excision, I’ve been trying to be good about walking and getting my leg strength back. This morning, at the suddenly crowded gym, there were no treadmills to be found. However, there was one lone elliptical available. I used to use the elliptical a lot to get cardio in back before the whole cancer thing.

I thought – why not? I could use a bit more cardio in my workouts – especially since I have suddenly acquired two pounds since SXSW. And if you knew how hard it is for me to lose weight, you would know how frustrating it was to see those numbers on the scale. So I hopped on the elliptical and started my workout.

About five minutes into it, I realized that is to was the first time since my leg was sliced open that I used an elliptical. And my legs and backside were none too pleased with this new development. I pushed on, despite my sweating and muscles aching. And finally, at the end of 20 minutes, I decided that I had enough for my first time back.

I then had my 10 minute walk to work. Since it’s a picture-postcard day outside, I found myself dawdling a bit. I’m sure it had nothing to do with the fact that I just worked my scar and the rest of my legs a lot harder than ever before…

However, it felt good to get my heart-rate up and right now, the scar is slightly achy but nothing that would prevent me from trying the elliptical soon. I’m hoping to be able to get workouts like that into my routine again.

Leave a Reply