Four months since the excision

      1 Comment on Four months since the excision

Although it seems hard to believe, it has been four months since the excision where cancer was removed from my knee area. For the most part, I think my healing process is going well. Yes, I had the infection; yes, I have bizarre pain and achiness; yes, the scar is still purplish and prominent. But the pink melanoma that trespassed and decided to grow a home there is no longer there, no longer a threat to my longevity, no longer capable of growing tentacles and spreading its malignancy to my lungs or brain.

Is there still cancer in my body – possibly, probably, likely. I don’t have the answers for that. My reasonable answer on most days is no. I caught it early and it’s all good. But some days, when I see a weird patch on my skin, the reasonable answer goes out the window. Then my answer is probably, or likely depending on how weird that patch looks. I don’t think I will ever be able to look at a cherry angioma the same again. And I had a few of those, with a new one popping up just recently. (At least, I’m hoping it is just a cherry angioma – although you know I will be certain to point it out to the dermatologist on my next follow-up in June.)

Just in the past two weeks, I’m suddenly very tired, almost exhausted. I’m not sure if it’s due to the super high levels of pollen in the Austin area, or whether I’m fighting off something. Ordinarily, I would push through it; but I’m being kinder to my body this go around. If I need sleep or at least rest, I’m going to lie in bed for another 10 minutes with the kitty rather than hauling my unwilling butt out of bed. I’m trying to give my immune system whatever ammo it needs to fight off something, if that’s what’s going on. It could be a cold that it’s fighting, or it could be cancer. Scientists believe the immune system can fight certain types of cancer; so who am I to tax my immune system unnecessarily?

This time last year, I had undergone a lot of stress – losing my job through some shady circumstances, having to file an EEOC complaint; suddenly putting the brakes on building the dream house; interviewing; moving to a new town, new apartment, and starting a new job; marital issues stemming from all of that. That’s a lot of stress within a few month period. I’m sure I wasn’t sleeping or eating right. I’m sure my body was taxed from the experience. Honestly, I’m not surprised that my pink melanoma popped out at the end of all that.

So this time around, if my body wants some extra rest, I’m letting it happen.

For those of you playing along at home, I took the scar sheets off just to get a photo for you:

4 month scar

The excision scar at 4 months

I’ve got my leg bent a little trying to get the image but the divot is still there. Slowly getting less purple, I think so anyway. Time to put the scar sheets back on!

1 thought on “Four months since the excision

  1. Pingback: Amelanotic Nodular Melanoma – Who’s Looking for Information | Pink Melanoma

Leave a Reply