Five Months Since the Excision

      No Comments on Five Months Since the Excision

It has been a few days since the five-month mark of my amelanotic nodular melanoma excision. In a week or so, it’ll be the six-month mark from my diagnosis. Obviously, I get to celebrate that milestone with a visit to the dermatologist for my every-three-months check-up. At this point, I’m not exactly sure that she’ll find any moles that will need to be biopsied, but I’m not counting out the possibility either.

I keep looking at my bullet hole, the one with the atypical mole. The other bullet hole is still a little red, but for the most part, seems to be fading. That other bullet hole, well, looks like there’s a little mole growing within the reddish circle that the biopsy left. It’s not raised, which is a bonus, but still… All my other weird raised mole things, let’s say that I’ve obsessively been looking at them to see if there have been any changes since the last check-up. Although I’m sure I’m paranoid, I will mention the itching that one of my browner spots has experienced (likely just dry skin from taking too much Benadryl this allergy season, but…)

I happened to notice a high school friend on Facebook mention that she was diagnosed with melanoma a few years ago. I was tempted to reach out to her and ask her about her experience. But then I got weirdly shy about it. I didn’t want to look like I was prying into her health (she didn’t mention any recurrence) and for whatever reason, I didn’t want to share my story with her. Which is strange, because here I am sharing it on this blog. I don’t know why, other than I felt that would just be a weird thing – hey, I’m sorta friends with you and we share this experience of having melanoma; let’s bond… I guess my natural shyness is asserting itself. Remember, I do have a hard time sharing personal stuff… :o)

Leave a Reply