Another 3 Month Check-up Coming up Fast

      1 Comment on Another 3 Month Check-up Coming up Fast

In 2 days, I have my second 3 month check-up with the dermatologist. It seems somewhat surreal that it’s been just about 6 months since my initial diagnosis. I can recall the entire telephone conversations with my doctor when she told me – it’s so fresh in my mind. But the intervening 180 days seem kind of like a blur of excision, healing, scarring, getting my strength back.

I have a few spots on my skin that I’ve been watching out of the corner of my eye, aside from the atypical spot that was removed the last time. I’m hoping that I won’t need more bits of skin cut off. I have a long-overdue massage scheduled for the next day. I really don’t want to have to explain why I have a fresh bullet hole to the therapist. I don’t want to have my massage avoid an entire leg or something. I just want to be able to relax and knowing that there’s another suspect piece of skin waiting to be analyzed probably won’t help me really get into the zen, you know?

I know it sounds so simplistic. I just want a check-up where at the end, the doctor’s like – good to see you, see you again in 3 months. Not, “there is another spot we should take a look at”. I mean, I’d rather find something suspect sooner rather than later, of course. I would just like for there to be nothing to find.

1 thought on “Another 3 Month Check-up Coming up Fast

Leave a Reply