Two and a Half Years Later

      No Comments on Two and a Half Years Later

So I received an email from a reader who basically said, “It’s great that you had a fantastic trip and all that; but we haven’t seen how your scar is progressing in a long time”. I know you guys love the scar photos so…

To the day, it’s been two and a half years since the excision. I’ve shown some images of my knee as I healed up. But I know a lot of you come here to get information on what comes after the diagnosis and try to get a sense of what the impact is once you get through the first couple of days.

Since I’ve returned from my U.K. adventure, I’ve been getting up earlier so I can go for a quick walk in the morning before I get ready for work. I was feeling much stronger when I got home and wanted to keep up that feeling. I don’t go very far, maybe 3.5 miles; but it’s enough while I’m still tying to wake myself up. I’ve got about 1.5 mile roundtrip walk to the office so I’m putting about 5 miles on my legs most days. Very rarely will I feel anything in my knee around the scar. I have to say that I was worried that walking would always be uncomfortable but it hasn’t been the case.

Despite how much tissue they had to take out of my leg, the scar has flattened out over the past two and a half years. Honestly, I don’t even realize it’s there most of the time. I run around in skirts and shorts. While at first I was concerned that I would be self-conscious about this thing, I really had nothing to be that worried about. (And I’ve been experimenting with some outrageous stories to explain the scar if anyone asks – you see, I was hang-gliding in St. Tropez when Diddy motioned for me to land on his yacht for a glass of Dom – we’re friends like that; but suddenly this big gust of wind grabbed my glider, although I was able to recover quite nicely. Just as I landed on deck, Diddy dropped the bottle of Dom in awe of my skills and the flying glass caught my leg. It was terrible to waste that lovely bottle but fortunately, he has 7 more cases onboard so….)

Oh, alright, I can hear you guys moaning and complaining from over here…

Scar at 30 months

My scar, 2.5 years after the excision

So, you can see it’s faded quite a bit. When I work out or walk strenuously, it’ll get a little purple. Yeah, there’s still that divot but for the most part, I barely even notice the scar anymore. I don’t think I would have believed you if you would have told me right after the excision that I would barely notice it anymore; but here I am…

Leave a Reply