Gearing up for Europe

      2 Comments on Gearing up for Europe

As I mentioned in earlier posts, after my amelanotic nodular melanoma diagnosis and subsequent excision, I realized that I had put off a lot of things that fed my soul. Traveling was one of the casualties that I was bound and determined to revive. And in the late Spring, I bought a plane ticket to Europe to go explore the Nordic Countries and then meet up with a long-lost friend in Germany.

Throughout the summer, I formulated a plan. Since I need to get back to work relatively quickly, I could only take two weeks (which for people in the U.S. is still a long vacation). That meant I needed to be a bit more thoughtful about my itinerary to try to squeeze in as much as I could. I tried telling myself that I could always go back; but you know what, getting this diagnosis made me realize that I’m not guaranteed to get a second opportunity later in life. So, I am highly aware that I overscheduled myself and that I’ll be rushing around like a tourist rather than a traveler. And I really don’t care because I’m still so excited to get out there and explore.

I land in Copenhagen and will spend a few days there. I know Tivoli is a tourist trap but for a little girl who loved amusement parks growing up, it has always been a dream to see it. And I heard that Copenhagen is just a really fun place to roam around. And then Bergen, Norway – ah, finally fjords!! Having been a big fan of the Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, I can’t wait to see the fjords. (If you have no idea what I’m talking about, please read the books. Douglas Adams wrote some very funny but very thought-provoking stuff.) Stockholm is next and I can’t wait to feel all of the history in Gamla Stan. Then the walled Estonian old city of Tallinn is next, followed by a ferry over to Helsinki so I can visit the land of my first pen pal (who I sadly lost touch with in about fourth grade). And then, on to Germany to visit my childhood neighbor who I haven’t physically seen since I graduated high school. She’s going to show me around her area in Leipzig before hitting Berlin. All in all, a very packed but exciting two weeks.

I love the process of planning, reading about destinations – the sights, the history, the way to get around. I love researching hostels. I love mapping out how to get from one destination to the next. (And although I read train tables for pleasure reading, the time constraints and distances between places made air travel a necessity for all except while in Germany.) Despite all that life keeps throwing at me, when I think about traveling, I get a rush of excitement, of wonderment, of “Oh my god, I’m really going to be there in a few weeks”…

I just need to get through another week and a half of crazy stress at work to make it there… But look out Europeans, I’m heading your way and I got a second chance to make this the best trip yet!

2 thoughts on “Gearing up for Europe

  1. Pingback: Europe-Bound in 48 Hours! | Pink Melanoma

  2. Pingback: Europe-Bound in 48 Hours! | Pink Melanoma

Leave a Reply